Works to be featured when the second floor of the historic 1916 building reopens at the end of June include world-renowned masterpieces from the museum’s collections of European art from 1600- 1800 and American art from 1700-1900, as well as the beloved Armor Court.
Visitors returning to the 1916 second floor galleries will enjoy works from the heart of the museum’s collection of Western European art as well as the formative stages in the development of American art. The newly renovated galleries are arranged around three spaces: the Armor Court, the central rotunda and the former interior garden court. The interior garden court has been transformed into a gallery for Italian painting and sculpture from 1600-1800 and the display of miniatures and other small works from 17th-century Europe.
The rotunda, cleared of display cases previously installed there, is now the central orientation spot from which to explore the building. The Armor Court, meanwhile, is virtually unchanged since its comprehensive renovation in 1998.